• John Cage
  • Atlas Eclipticalis (1961)

  • Henmar Press, Inc. (World)

For Ensemble drawn from Parts for 86 Musicians. To be performed with or without Winter Music.

  • 3(I:pic,afl.II:pic,afl.III:pic,afl).3(I:ca,sax.II:ca,sax.III:ca,sax).3(I:bcl,cbcl.II:bcl,cbcl.III:bcl,cbcl).3(3cbn)/
  • 30 min

Programme Note

For any combination of instruments drawn from:

Flute (Alto Flute, Piccolo, ad lib.) 1–3;
Oboe (English Horn, Saxophone, ad lib.) 1–3;
Clarinet (Bass Clarinet or Contrabass Clarinet ad lib.) 1-3;
Bassoon (Contrassoon ad lib.) 1–3;
Horn (treble range) 1, 3 (bass range), 2, 4, 5;
Trumpet 1–3;
Trombone (Tenor) 1, 2, (Bass) 3;
Tuba 1–3;
Timpani 1–3 (each using 4-pedal instruments);
Percussion 1–9 (using miscellaneous unspecified non-pitched instruments);
Harp 1–3;
1st Violin 1–12 (high range);
2nd Violin 1–12 (low range);
Viola 1–9;
Violoncello 1–9;
Contrabass 1–3;

To be played in whole or in part, any duration in any ensemble, chamber or orchestral. An electronic version is made possible by use of contact microphones with associated amplifiers and louds.

Atlas Eclipticalis is the first work in a group of three, of which Variations IV is the second (representing ‘samsara’, the turmoil of everyday life) and 0′00″ is the third (representing ‘individual action’). It represents ‘nirvana’, according to Hidekazu Yoshidaʼs interpretations of Japanese Haiku poetry.

More Info