Commissioned by RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra

  • 2(II:afl)+pic.2.2+bcl.1+cbn/
  • 12 min

Programme Note

Composer note
Memoria is a piece inspired by the way people (or our inventions of those people) live on vividly in our minds, even when they are no longer there in real life. I’ve never felt this more strongly than in the last two years when more than ever we have been made aware of the fragility, preciousness and precariousness of life itself.  This year, I lost two mentors that were of immense importance to me: Louis Andriessen and Hormoz FarhatMemoria itself has a trajectory from the ethereal and elusive to the firmly present. It draws on some material from my opera The First Child that was based on a disguised melody.  In Memoria however, the disguised melody is gradually revealed, eventually appearing fully fledged in shuddering gasps. It is dedicated to the memory of Hormoz Farhat, my composition professor at Trinity in Dublinand later my friendsomeone who had a remarkable impact on the course of my life. 

— Donnacha Dennehy


starting at 8:38, the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra premieres 'Memoria'



  • Independent Repertoire: A Land of Immigrants — Perspectives from Abroad
    • Independent Repertoire: A Land of Immigrants — Perspectives from Abroad
    • The United States is a nation of immigrants, and so much of its artistic, linguistic, culinary, and cultural identity would be unimaginable without the contributions of those born outside America. The following works showcase the unique perspectives and striking cultural blends offered by composers coming to the U.S. from abroad.
  • Donnacha Dennehy: Music for Dance
    • Donnacha Dennehy: Music for Dance
    • The music of Donnacha Dennehy is subversive and poetic. His distinctive style reflects a wide range of musical influences, including minimalism, spectralism, and traditional Irish sean-nós (“old style”) singing. This curated playlist of Dennehy’s music highlights the possibilities for new dance creations.