• Poul Ruders
  • Clarinet Quintet (2014)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • cl.2vn.va.vc
  • 16 min
    • 22nd August 2022, Høsterkøb Kirke, Hørsholm, Denmark
    View all

Programme Note

My Clarinet Quintet (2014) carries no statement or message, being simply a piece of music for clarinet and string quartet, with the clarinet as the dominant voice, on top of and in between the four strings, exploring the endless sonorous treasures lying hidden in that particular instrumental combination.

There are three movements:
1)Avanti alla breve 2)Adagio sognante 3)Animato

The piece was commissioned by Harry Cameron-Penny and written for him and the Benyounes Quartet, who all performed the world premiere at the Frederiksværk Chamber Music Festival, Denmark, summer of 2016.

- Poul Ruders

Duration: approx.- 16 minutes