Australian composer, Stuart Greenbaum, signs to Wise Music Group

Australian composer, Stuart Greenbaum, signs to Wise Music Group
Stuart Greenbaum
© Pia Johnson

Wise Music Group is pleased to announce a global exclusive publishing deal between Australian composer Stuart Greenbaum and Wise Music G. Schirmer Australia Pty Ltd.

Greenbaum’s impressive catalogue spans over 230 works including seven concertos, five symphonies, two operas, 25 sonatas, eight string quartets and five piano trios. Frequently programmed in concert hall and in radio broadcasts, Greenbaum’s music is mature, confident, and impactful. Known for haunting melodies, it is lyrical and contemporary yet with a strong link to the Western classical tradition.

Greenbaum has been awarded prizes including the Dorian Le Galliene Composition Award, the Heinz Harant Prize, and the Albert H. Maggs Composition Award. His work 90 Minutes Circling the Earth was named Orchestral Work of the Year at the 2008 Classical Music Awards.

“I hear music in time as a journey. Often this involves viewing our home planet Earth from a distance and considering our place in the universe. I gravitate toward remote and abandoned places on Earth or beyond as a metaphor.”
Stuart Greenbaum

There is an infectious jazz element to Greenbaum’s writing, which frequently includes unprepared descending modulations, providing an urgency and interest to the listener. His compositional style could sometimes be described as almost ordered improvisation.

Melbourne composer Stuart Greenbaum’s chamber works, like all the best art, is in the world but not of the world.
Will Yeoman, Limelight magazine

Greenbaum’s orchestral output includes works for the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Australian Youth Orchestra, Australian Chamber Orchestra and Canberra Symphony Orchestra. City Lights a Mile Up was commissioned by the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra and has been a major success for the HUSH Foundation in its series of recordings. Major chamber works have been written for The Australia Ensemble, Southern Cross Soloists, Omega Ensemble, Grigoryan Brothers, Ensemble Liaison, Ensemble Francaix and The Australian Ballet.

Around the world, Greenbaum’s music is regularly programmed. Nelson, a 3–act opera with libretto by Ross Baglin, was presented in London in 2005 and premiered in full at the 2007 Castlemaine State Festival. Their second opera, The Parrot Factory, received a 5-show season in 2010 staged by Victorian Opera at The Malthouse. Major choral works include The Foundling (1997) and Brought to Light - Symphony No. 5 (2022), commissioned by Cantori New York. From the Beginning  was commissioned for the sesquicentenary of the Royal Melbourne Philharmonic in 2003 and The Sydney Philharmonia Choirs commissioned The Night that the Museum Burned for its 2022 season.

Of the signing, Stuart Greenbaum commented “This incredible opportunity to be represented by Wise Music G. Schirmer Australia has come at an ideal time in my career and I am looking forward to working together to connect our musical worlds.”

Wise Music Asia-Pacific Managing Director, Jane English said “We are so thrilled to welcome Stuart Greenbaum to our roster of Australian composers. We are excited to collaborate with Stuart, accompanying him on his compositional path and expanding his future opportunities.”

“I’ve always loved Stuart’s music, and to have this opportunity to represent, promote and engage audiences for his works is a dream come true!” said Catherine Gerrard, Classical Promotions Director, Wise Music Asia-Pacific.

Greenbaum is also Professor in Composition at the Conservatorium of Music, University of Melbourne where he was also Head of Composition between 2007 and 2023.

"Greenbaum’s music; there's real poetry in it."
Andrew Ford, 24 Hours

Listen to a sample of Stuart Greenbaum works here

Related News