Swedish composer Jacob Mühlrad signs to Wise Music Group

Swedish composer Jacob Mühlrad signs to Wise Music Group
Jacob Mühlrad
© Amit Israeli

Wise Music Group is delighted to announce that Swedish composer Jacob Mühlrad has signed an exclusive publishing agreement with Berlin-based Bosworth Music GmbH.

Jacob Mühlrad, born 1991 in Sweden, has been commissioned and performed by Tokyo Symphony Orchestra, Radio France, Vancouver Chamber Choir, Bamberger Symphoniker and WDR Rundfunkchor Cologne. He has collaborated closely with individuals such as Olga Neuwirth, Martin Fröst, Pablo Heras-Casado and Matthias Pintscher. His inventive and emotionally resonant compositions seamlessly blend his Jewish heritage with avant-garde musical exploration, incorporating elements like microtonality and liturgical scales. Mühlrad's work covers eternal themes such as mortality, holiness, and the essence of human nature, expressing a profound connection to the foundations of the universe through music.

His compositions include works for orchestra, choir, and ensemble as well as film music. He is also involved in crossover projects leaving the classical realm and venturing into pop.

Particularly notable is his choral music, which authentically captures the mystical essence of Jewish tradition. Following his breakthrough with Anim zemirot in 2013, Mühlrad's compositions Time and Ay Li Lu were both commissioned by prestigious choirs across four continents.

Mühlrad's repertoire expanded with the world premiere (2021) of his first large-scale orchestral work, REMS (Rapid Eye Movement Sleep), exploring the enigmatic realm of the unconscious dream state. This marked the beginning of a multi-year collaboration with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic. Subsequently, a short version of REMS was performed at the Suntory Hall by the Tokyo Symphony Orchestra.

Looking ahead to 2024, Mühlrad is set to make his debut with the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra, presenting the premiere performance of his clarinet concerto SEMA featuring Magnus Holmander as soloist and conducted by Martin Fröst. The collaboration with Martin Fröst spans back to when he toured the world with his concert project Retrotopia that includes Mühlrad ’s orchestral piece Angelus novus.

Embracing cross-genre collaborations, Mühlrad has partnered with diverse artists such as Swedish rapper Silvana Imam, Swedish House Mafia.. Additionally, he has ventured into film scoring, contributing to "Burn All My Letters," directed by the acclaimed Björn Runge (The Wife). Mühlrad's scores for theater include "Tröstrapporter (Reports of Consolation)", commissioned by The Royal Dramatic Theatre in Stockholm, and written and directed by best-selling author Alex Schulman.


Bosworth Music GmbH will administer all future works by Jacob Mühlrad. His back catalogue will be represented by Gehrmans for Scandinavia and the Baltic States and by Bosworth Music for the rest of the world. 


Jacob Mühlrad comments: "I’m looking forward to working with Wise Music and its fantastic network of people and their knowledge of the industry.”

Michael Ohst, Managing Director of Bosworth GmbH comments: “We're elated to announce our collaboration with Jacob Mühlrad, an artist whose talent and vision have captivated us immensely. Jacob's contributions to the world of contemporary music are both profound and inspiring. His compositions resonate with a unique blend of emotion, tradition, and innovation, offering a musical tapestry that speaks to the core of human experience.”

Related News