Iain Bell at The Opera Awards 2015

Iain Bell at The Opera Awards 2015
It has been announced that opera A Christmas Carol by Chester Music composer Iain Bell has been listed as a finalist in the World Premiere category for The Opera Awards: 2015. Commissioned by Houston Grand Opera Association, Inc., A Christmas Carol is a setting of Dickens’ own one-man version of the novella which he frequently performed throughout his career. The libretto has been written by acclaimed British actor/director Simon Callow. The opera is a true tour de force - a one man show, premiered with the American tenor Jay Hunter Morris directed by Simon Callow. The work is scored for a 15-player chamber orchestra and received its world premiere in Houston Grand Opera's Cullen Theater on December 5 with a run of a further ten performances.

Near the end of the working day on Christmas Eve, Scrooge, a penurious businessman, grudgingly gives his clerk Bob Cratchit the next day off for the holiday. When Scrooge returns home, he is visited by the ghost of his former partner, Jacob Marley, who died on Christmas Eve seven years earlier. Marley wears a long, heavy chain and warns Scrooge that he faces the same fate unless he mends his selfish ways. Marley warns that Scrooge will be visited by three spirits. Scrooge is visited in turn by the ghosts of Christmas Past, Christmas Present, and Christmas Yet to Come. At the end of the final visit, Scrooge implores the spirit to reverse his fate, promising to be a new man. See more here.

The Narrator - Jay Hunter Morris |Kevin Ray (Dec. 17 and 20)
Creative Team
Conductor - Warren Jones 
Director - Simon Callow
Set & Costume Designer - Laura Hopkins
Lighting Designer - Mark McCullough
Houston Grand Opera Orchestra

The award ceremony will take place on April 26 at The Savoy Theatre and The Savoy Hotel in London.

The Opera Awards
Category: World Premiere

Anderson: Thebans, English National Opera
Bell: A Christmas Carol, Houston Grand Opera
Boesmans: Au Monde, La Monnaie
Gothe: Blanche & Marie, Norrlands Operan Umeå
Gruber: Tales from the Vienna Woods, Bregenz
Metcalf: Under Milk Wood: Taliesin Arts Centre (Swansea), Le Chien qui Chante (Montreal) and Companion Star (NY) in association with Welsh National Opera

See here for more information about The Opera Awards.

Related News