Commissioned by the Northern Sinfonia

Study score is available to buy.

  • 1(pic)2(ca)2(bcl)2/2000
  • 20 min

Programme Note

Commissioned by Northern Arts for the Northern Sinfonia Ensemble, this work was written between March and May of 1971. It is scored for Mozart's serenade band plus a flute doubling piccolo. The second oboe also doubles cor anglais and the second clarinet bass clarinet.

Formally all four movements are very free. The first and fourth have as their material a sort of chorale which is interrupted in the first movement by a canon for clarinet and bass clarinet, repeated by flute and bassoon and in the fourth movement by a very quick alla marcia.

The second movement is marked andante sostenuto and the third presto. This is a large multi-sectioned scherzo type of movement which relates in many ways to the bagatelles second movement of my chamber symphony of 1966, also commissioned for the Northern Sinfonia.

© David Blake