• Jonathan Dove
  • The Walk from the Garden (2012)
    (Church Opera in 12 Scenes)

  • Peters Edition Limited (World)

Commissioned by the Ageas Salisbury International Arts Festival. First performed 30 May 2012, Salisbury Cathedral.

  • S,T + ch; timp/org/2vn.va.vc
  • ch
  • Soprano, Tenor
  • 45 min
  • Alasdair Middleton
  • English

Programme Note

The story of Adam and Eve’s banishment from the Garden of Eden has a particular resonance in a time of growing awareness of man’s impact on the planet. This moving and poignant 50-minute church opera in 12 scenes is scored for an unusual but approachable line-up: 2 solo singers, chorus, string quartet, timpani and organ. Ideal for companies taking work out of the opera house and introducing opera to the wider community.

cover: Jonathan Dove Opera



  • Our Earth | Focus on...Climate Change
    • Our Earth | Focus on...Climate Change
    • Celebrate the environmental consciousness of Wise Music Group composers as we explore the meeting of art and activism in compositions which echo the urgent call of our planet.