Commissioned by the Iceland Symphony Orchestra, Los Angeles Philharmonic (Gustavo Dudamel, Music & Artistic Director) and Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra.

  • pf + 3(III:pic).1+ca.2+bcl.1+cbn/4.3.2+btbn.1/timp.3perc/hp/str
  • Piano
  • 23 min
    • 23rd April 2024, Konzerthaus, Freiburg, Germany
    View all

Programme Note

1. Revellers
2. Visitor
3. Knell
4. Dance
5. Revelation
6. Danse Macabre
7. Procession

Written during the pandemic Daníel Bjarnason was struck by the fact that this was nothing new in history and in earlier times more serious pandemics had taken even more lives. Iceland was hit the hardest by the corona pandemic in the Western world, in relation to the population.

He was also inspired by Memento Mori, the tradition from Dance Macabre, as well as using “death as a part of life” as the main subject for this new work. The opposite is to remember that we are alive, says Bjarnason.

The work is dedicated to Vikingur Ólafsson who gave the first performance with the LA Phil on 18 February 2022 conducted by Esa-Pekka Salonen.


Víkingur Ólafsson, Iceland Symphony Orchestra, Daníel Bjarnason Cond., 02.03.2022 Reykjavík (Harpa)