• George Lewis
  • Tales of the Traveller (2016)

  • C.F. Peters Corporation (World)

Tales of the Traveller was commissioned by the London Sinfonietta, who gave the world premiere in 2016 with conductor Ilan Volkov and guitarist Fred Frith.

Composed for soloist (any instrument) and chamber ensemble (including electric guitar and electric bass). Over the course of a single, 22-minute movement, the ensemble perform from strictly composed parts, while the soloist's part is entirely improvised in response to suggestions from the composer: direct imitation is discouraged, while "use of noise (whatever that may mean in this context) is encouraged."
Part of the Peters Contemporary Library series
Performance notes in English

  • soloist + 1(pic).0.1.0/tpt/perc/pf/egtr.bgtr/vn.va.vc
  • Soloist
  • 23 min