• Stephen McNeff
  • The Walking Shadows (2018)
    (for soloists, chorus and orchestra)

  • Peters Edition Limited (World)
  • S,Mz,T,Bar + mixedch; 1(pic).1.0(II:bcl)+2bb-cl.2/0+f-hn.0+2bb-tpt.3.0/timp.perc/org/str(min.
  • mixedch
  • Soprano, Mezzo-soprano, Tenor, Baritone
  • 55 min

Programme Note

Life's but a walking shadow (Macbeth, Act V, sc. V)

The Walking Shadows tells the stories of four people in a landscape of war. No one comes out of it as they went in; everything is changed forever. The story is told in three parts and uses references to music of the time of the First World War. The text is drawn from letters and reports, inspired by journeys to France and Flanders, as well as drawing on Aoife Mannix's research for Fighting Words (the result of Aoife's Artists Rifles residency). The Walking Shadows could be a companiion work for Mozart's Requiem and uses almost exactly the same vocal and instrumental forces.

Commissioned with financial assistance from Arts Council England and Apples and Snakes

First performance at St Martin-in-the-Fields, London on 30th October 2018, given by Canticum, conducted by Mark Forkgen