• Julian Philips
  • Ricochets between (2010)
    (for seven players)

  • Peters Edition Limited (World)
  • 12 min

Programme Note

Ricochets between (2010)
for seven players

  1. Ricochet
  2. Driving riff
  3. Ricochet
  4. Saccharine ballad
  5. Ricochet
  6. Hollywoodish fanfare
  7. Atonal Landscape
  8. Ricochet

This ten-minute ensemble piece ricochets between four kinds of musical material: a Driving Riff that pits one violin against another, a Saccharine ballad in which an imaginary folk-tune is elaborated over a ground, a Hollywoodish Fanfare in which the solo clarinet takes centre stage and an Atonal Landscape where slowly unfolding piano harmonies resonate across the ensemble.

Julian Philips, 2023