• Jonathan Dove
  • Three Seaside Postcards (2004)

  • Peters Edition Limited (World)
  • childrch; 2(2pic).2.2.2/4.2.1+btbn.1/timp.2perc/hp/str
  • childrch
  • 15 min
  • Traditional
  • English

Programme Note

Three Seaside Postcards by Jonathan Dove is a 15-minute work for Children’s Voices and Orchestra, scored for 2(1,Picc/2,Picc).2.2.2 – 4.2.3(1/2/BTbn).1 – Timp.2Perc – Str. Originally written as a two-movement work in 1995, Jonathan Dove was commissioned by The Classical Roadshow to write a third movement, The Sea is Calm, published by Peters Edition Ltd in 2004. This new edition of the complete three movement work is published by arrangement with Faber Music.

The three songs with traditional words are,

1. Wish You Were Here

2. The Sea is Calm

3. Having a Lovely Time

Wish You Were Here and Having a Lovely Time were commissioned by the CBSO Society Limited and premiered on 19 July 1995 with them and the City of Birmingham Symphony Youth Chorus and children from Birmingham primary schools, conducted by Simon Halsey. All three Postcards together were first performed on 11 March 2004 in Dorking Halls by the Guildford Philharmonic Orchestra under the direction of Hilary Davan Wetton.

The full score (EP 73588) is available for sale as part of the Peters Contemporary Library. The performance material can be hired and the vocal score (EP 73588a) purchased separately.