• Poul Ruders
  • Quickstep Rag (2022)
    (An encore for solo harpsichord)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)

Written for Mahan Esfahani

Commissioner exclusivity applies

  • hpd
  • hpd
  • 2 min 30 s

Programme Note

Quickstep Rag was composed ”from the hip”, as a tribute to Mahan Esfahani and his spectacular mastery of the harpsichord, not long after the world premiere and subsequent recording of my Harpsichord Concerto, commissioned by and written for Mahan and the Aarhus Symphony Orchestra in tandem with the Royal Scottish National Orchestra.   

Quickstep Rag is a short encore, plain and simple, the title evoking popular dance music from the first half of the twentieth century. The music, however, is all its own, quick and ragged.

- Poul Ruders



The OUR Recordings live recording of the Harpsichord Concerto from 2020 can be heard on all major streaming platforms.  Mahan Esfahani, Aarhus Symphony Orchestra, conductor: Leif Segerstam.