• Ross Edwards
  • Djanaba (1997)
    (for Guitar & Marimba duo)

  • Wise Music G. Schirmer Australia Pty Ltd (World)
  • mba/gtr
  • 2gtr
  • 3 min

Programme Note

In 1995 I was commissioned by Eva Griffith to compose a work for the Dutch-based Duo Contemporain (bass clarinet and percussion). This work, entitled Enyato IV, is in three short movements – two radiant, rhythmically buoyant dances framing an introspective recitative.

Some years later I arranged the first dance especially for the Z.o.o Guitar Duo – also from Holland – and it seemed natural to further adapt it for the Ogden Tanner Guitar and Percussion Duo.

The title, Djanaba, is an Eora word (from the people who originally inhabited the Sydney Basin) and it means laughter. I felt this was in keeping with the light-hearted spirit of the music.