• Lil Lacy
  • Aurōra (2023)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)

Commissioned by Gävle Symfoniorkester

  • 2(afl).2(ca).2(bcl).2(cbn)/
  • 10 min

Programme Note

The work is inspired by the sculpture Auroras Seger by Staffan Nihlen placed under the bridge Kvarnbron in Gävle, Sweden.

Aurōra is the Roman Goddess of dawn and announced the arrival of the sun every morning. Aurōra is the Latin word for dawn, daybreak, and sunrise. She symbolizes new beginnings and the opportunities that the new day offers.

Aurōra is dedicated to singer and musician Jannis Noya Makrigiannis, who created endlessly beautiful music with, among others, the Choir af Young Believers. Jannis passed away, much too young, in December 2022. Aurōra was written in a time of mourning, and the movement from darkness into light, is dedicated to Jannis, his memory that will stay with us forever vibrant and present.

The music begins in a lower register of the lowest sounding instruments of the orchestra in woodwinds, brass and strings, all the way to the gran cassa. Throughout the work, more light and higher pitches are introduced, ending in a bright day with the sound of tubular bells, calling for the morning to begin, and the solo flute and solo violin to salute the light before disappearing into silence.

The work is intended to become a multi-channel sound installation and will be installed under the Kvarnbron, just by the sculpture Auroras Seger in June 2024.