• Maja S. K. Ratkje
  • Tale of Lead and Frozen Light (2014)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • str
  • 15 min

Programme Note

Based on the string quartet Tale of Lead and Light (2011)

Minimum number of players: 3 – 2 – 2 – 2 – 1
The original string quartet was written in the aftermath of the events in Oslo and Utøya July 2011. A source of musical inspiration is Beethoven’s 'Quartet Op. 59 number 1'. My music is full of elements from Beethoven’s work
The ambiguity in the title reflects both hope and dread. Beethoven’s light shines through, strong and full of life!

Commissioned by and written for Det Norske Kammerorkester.




  • Explore music by women for dance
    • Explore music by women for dance
    • In response to requests from choreographers, dance and ballet companies we invite you to explore music in multiple styles and genres by women at the height of their composing game. From Missy Mazzoli, Maja Ratkje and Helen Grime, to Joan Tower, Kaija Saariaho, Gloria Coates and the new generation Hania Rani and Lisa Morgenstern, we are sure there’s something for everyone in this first in a series of specially curated features.