• Nico Muhly
  • Moving Parts (2012)

  • St. Rose Music Publishing (World)

Commissioned by Los Angeles Dance Project

Score and parts available for sale.

  • cl, vn, org
  • 25 min

Programme Note

Moving Parts is the music for Benjamin Millepied’s ballet of the same name. Scored for violin, clarinet, and pipe organ, the piece is a series of rhythmic etudes. The slow movement is a very slow passacaglia, with, I hope, unexpectedly lyrical melodies in the violin. After an extended organ toccata built over a drone, a brief slow movement creates a natural midpoint. The violin, aggressively plucking, builds up to form a canon with the clarinet, and after a loud outburst from the organ, the piece ends quietly.

Nico Muhly

Benjamin Millepied

First performance:
September 22, 23 2012
Los Angeles Dance Project
Disney Hall, Los Angeles, CA

A series of rhythmic etudes for violin, clarinet, and pipe organ, originally choreographed by Benjamin Millepied.


More Info

  • Dancing into 2024
    • Dancing into 2024
    • 14th February 2024
    • It’s a busy start to the year for Wise Music composers and world class choreographers.