• Per Nørgård
  • Symfoni nr. 8 (2011)
    (Symphony no. 8)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)

Commissioned by the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra

  • 4(2afl.pic)3+ca.3(Ebcl)+bcl.3+cbn/4431/timp.4perc/hp.pf/str
  • 28 min

Programme Note

The first movement opens with sculptural rising and falling scales. Visually the sound may call to mind, say, spirals or ziggurats (temple towers). Brisk music leads to the climax of the movement.
The second movement is slow and sensually melodious and has three interludes of greater timbral melodic action.
The third movement begins very restlessly but towards the climax the tempo gradually begins to accelerate. An oscillating pianissimo murmur ends the movement – and the symphony.

Symphony no. 8 is commissioned by Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra and is besides the Orchestra dedicated to the conductor John Storgårds.

Per Nørgård (2012)



Score preview



More Info