• Sergei Prokofiev
  • Alexander Nevsky (complete film music) (1938)

  • Sergei Prokofiev Estate (USA and Canada only)

Available in the USA and Canada only
reconstructed by Frank Strobel

  • 3(pic).3(ca).5(Ebcl,2bcl).4sax.3(cbn)/6.7+flg.4(btbn).2/timp.3perc/2hp.pf/str
  • SATB
  • Mezzo Soprano
  • 55 min

Programme Note

On 16 October 2003, Sergei Prokofiev’s 1938 film score to Sergei Eisenstein’s masterpiece Alexander Nevsky was performed live in concert, with the film, at the Berlin Konzerthaus. This screening featured the first performance of a score reconstructed by Frank Strobel. Based on extensive analysis of the film’s soundtrack and examination of the composer’s manuscript, short score and sketches, the new reconstruction reliably reproduces Prokofiev’s original scoring for the film.


Alexander Nevsky: III. The Crusaders in Pskov