• Sergei Prokofiev
  • Cello Concertino in G minor, Op. 132 (1952)

  • G Schirmer Inc (USA, Canada and Mexico only)
    Le Chant Du Monde (France, Belgium, Luxemburg, Andorra, French speaking African countries)

G Schirmer is the publisher of the work in the USA, Canada and Mexico only. Le Chant du Monde is the publisher of the work in France, Belgium, Luxemburg, Andorra, French speaking African countries.
completed by Rostropovich and Kabalevsky

  • 2.2+ca.2.2/
  • Cello
  • 21 min

Programme Note

This work was left unfinished by Prokofiev. Later, Mstislav Rostropovich and Dmitri Kabalevsky completed it. Its first performance with a piano took place on 29 December 1956 in the Small Hall of the Moscow Conservatory with Mstislav Rostropovich playing the cello and Alexander Dedyukhin the piano. Later it was premiered with an orchestra on 18 March 1960 in the Great Hall of the Conservatory with Mstislav Rostropovich at the cello and Abram Stasevich conducting.

A version for chamber orchestra was arranged by Vladimir blok in 1996 which was first performed on 11 April 1997 at St David's Hall in Cardiff with cellist Steven Isserlis and the BBC National Orchestra of Wales conducted by Mark Wigglesworth.

1. A ndante – Più mosso – Andante primo – Adagio
2. A llegro giusto – Meno mosso – andante – Più mosso e poco a poco accelerando – Più animato – Meno mosso – Più mosso – Allegro assai
3. A ndante con moto – Allegretto (poco meno mosso) – Allegro marcato – Poco meno mosso