• Arne Nordheim
  • Tre Voci (1988)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • vn, vc, fl, cl, perc, pf
  • Soprano
  • 16 min
  • Francesco Petrarca, Giordano Bruno and Giuseppe Ungaretti

Programme Note

The work is a setting of poems by three of Italy's great poets: Francesco Petrarcha (1304-74), Giordano Bruno (1548-1600) and Giuseppe Ungaretti (1888-1970).

Spanning several centuries, I feel the poets communicate a common message and meaning, developing from one song to another. In the course of performance, the texts will reveal their roots in a common basis of experience, and asking the same questions. That is why I believe in an underlying continuity of thought across the centuries and beyond the tomb.

- Arne Nordheim

Commissioned by Rikskonsertene in Norway