• Arne Nordheim
  • Rendezvous (1986)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • str
  • 20 min

Programme Note

Rendezvous for strings is a version for string orchestra of Nordheim's early String Quartet of 1956, which provides a striking illustration of the continuity of the composers work. This work displays the fullness of individual expression which is concentrated in an orchestral Lamento and characterized by links reaching back from contemporary styles to the expressive ethos and glowing intensity of early baroque. In a number of ways, Nordheim here establishes the types of expression which were to become the hallmarks of this particular string sound. The work is surprisingly mature, as evinced by the uniform development of motifs and themes and a masterly classical "durchgebrochene" compositional technique. In expression, the introductory Preambulum ranges between pure lyrical gentleness and concentrated intensity. That characteristic Nordheimesque polarity between shimmering light and brooding shadow which channels the associative processes can already be observed here. In the important work Intermezzo, with its clear neo-classical references, the thematic seeds are explored in a concentrated rythmical development, while the concluding Nachruf, performing a twofold function as both catharic aim and fading echoes, ties the work together in a closed arc of correspondence which, in their kinship to the essence of the major works for string quartets, point - beyond time and space - to the correspondences with another word.

- Kjell Skyllstad


Score preview