• Ole Buck
  • Landskaber II (1994)
    (Landscapes II)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • 20 min

Programme Note

What we have here are four separate compositions which share the title Landscapes. All four works were written for the Danish Chamber Players. Besides this, what they have in common is an introvert and meditative character – as if the music were pondering something perennially arcane.

The music in the four landscapes is partially inspired by Chinese landscape painting, and the Zen-like contemplation it may convey. You may hear detailed and clearly outlined landscapes, but also landscapes that are blurred, shrouded in mist and fog, in which contours are faint and dissolving.

For each work there is a pre-determined quite limited selection of notes, and equally limited rhythmic pattern, and within each single work those patterns are strictly adhered to.

It may be that the limited array of notes and rhythms has to do with a wish to go beyond everyday reality with its manifold impressions, in order to see the landscape – not as the multitude of details that of course also is – but as an entity, as oneness, as one landscape.

- Ole Buck