• Poul Ruders
  • Anima (1993)
    (Cellokoncert nr. 2)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • Cello
  • 21 min

Programme Note

Concerto no. 2 for Violoncello and Orchestra


My second cello concerto, Anima, was composed in 1993 on a commission from an Austrian cellist, Heinrich Schiff, and the Northern Sinfonia. In Latin “anima” means soul, but it is also a Jungian expression for the female element in the male. It is not surprising, then, that this little concerto is one of my more introvert pieces.

Anima forms the first part of a nameless trilogy of solo concertos, which emphasizes reflective moods; after Anima follows a Viola Concerto (no title), and finally a Piano Concerto (also without title).

In the cello concerto Anima, it is mainly the melodic aspect that is in the foreground; a bitter-sweet, always gentle song for cello and small orchestra.

- Poul Ruders



Score preview