• Poul Ruders
  • Violinkoncert nr. 1 (1981)
    (Violin Concerto No. 1)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • hphpdstr(
  • Violin
  • 20 min

Programme Note

The concerto for violin and double string-orchestra, harpsichord and harp was commissioned by The Royal Danish Academy of Music for its student orchestra and an advanced violin student, who never got to do the piece, which was then premiered by Mr. Anders Nordentoft, and exceedingly gifted musician, who later has proven an equally talented composer with a growing reputation.

Being written for near-professionals the orchestra part is relatively simple and the solo part is difficult enough, beaming above the accompanying orchestra, which evolves as a kind reflection of Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons.

The composition is a straightforward neo-baroque homage to the sunny atmosphere of the Italian music of that period.

All three movements are played without any breaks. First Echi d’una primavera (echoes of a spring) Nina-Nana (Lullaby Ciacona d’inverno (winter chaconne) in which the opening bars of Shubert’s song "Der Greiss" make the ostinato.

The violin concerto was written 1981 in Amalfi, Italy and premiered the year after in Copenhagen by the student orchestra and Mr. Nordentoft.

- Poul Ruders

View Score

Score preview