• Poul Ruders
  • Throne (1988)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • cl, pf
  • 13 min

Programme Note

Throne (1988) for Clarinet and Piano was composed on a commission from the Swedish clarinetist Håkon Rosenberg. Structurally it is organized in an arch form.

Although it begins in the piano, the work can be considered as one long clarinet solo, where the piano’s role is that of extending and mirroring the clarinet, both in register and motif. As such the piano is treated as a monody throughout, until the last warm B Major chord embraces the final notes of the clarinet. On the title page the composer tells us that Throne is Elevation, Unity, Diamonds, Crown, Glory, Velvet, Frailty, Decline, Oblivion, Nothing.

In short Throne is and abstract tone-poem on the transitoriness of Life.

- Poul Ruders 1988

View Score