• Poul Ruders
  • Studium (1999)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • (no violas or celli)
  • 2 Percussion
  • 16 min

Programme Note

Concerto for 2 percussion soloists and Orchestra

As indicated in the Latin title Studium, this concerto is a study or etude for virtuoso percussion and orchestra and a composer’s studium of the meticulous and patient building up a huge structure based on a very tight and sparse material. The title originally means and undertaking done with ardour and the wish to strive for the highest possible goal, a natural aim in any artistic endeavour.

The orchestra and the soloists work in a body towards the off-centre placed climax, the technical level of the soloists increasing form ensemble status to stupefying virtuosic display, whereas the orchestra maintains its tightly composed surround-sound. What then happens shall remain a surprise.

- Poul Ruders, November 2000