• Poul Ruders
  • Jubileephony (1986)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • 4 hands
  • 2 min

Programme Note

A fanfare for large wind ensemble and piano

Commissioned by and dedicated to Houston Symphony Orchestra in celebration of the 250th Anniversary of the Constitution of the State of Texas.

Jubileephony is divided into 2 sections: a jubilant and rhythmically profilated Reveille and a slow and soft Retraite, dying out in distant horn calls of the muted trumpets.

Thus the short piece does not only reflect the festive side to the happy occasion, but does also take into consideration the more thoughtful and solemn aspects that are part of all earthly celebrations.

- Poul Ruders, January 1986