• Poul Ruders
  • Paganini Variations Suite (2003)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • gtr
  • 9 min

Programme Note

For guitar solo

This solo suite is based on the solo part from Paganini Variations, Guitar Concerto No. 2, for guitar solo and orchestra, which was premiered by David Starobin and the Odense Symphony Orchestra on 19 April 2001. The concerto encompasses 22 variations of the Paganini theme from his Caprice no. 24, originally for violin solo.

The selection and editing of the 11 variations for the guitar solo suite were made in close collaboration with David Starobin.

- Poul Ruders