• Arne Nordheim
  • Tenebrae - reduced version (1982)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • 1(pic).1.1(bcl).1(cbn)/[syn]/str(
  • Cello
  • 25 min

Programme Note

Tenebrae (1982), a single-movement cello concert, commissioned and premiered by Rostropovich who praised the composer for his fine understanding and command of the rich timbre of the instrument. It is a convincing and almost nightmarish work containing music which leaves a tremendous impact on the listener. Not least in the central section where ghastly and terrifying apparitions are invoked out of the darkness. The final poetical section of the work is directly inspired by the description of the closing movement of Leverkühn’s Cantata in Thomas Mann’s Doktor Faustus.

Dedicated to Mstislav Rostropovich

View Score

Score preview