• Arne Nordheim
  • Five Stages (2001)
    (String Quartet nr. 2)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • str4tet
  • 16 min

Programme Note

Five Stages should be seen as a play on different moods and their encounters in our memories. Encounters of easily recognizable motifs and longer melodic fractions is thought to create a sustainable experience of a sounding deja-vu.

The continual overlapping of the musical material is thought to give space to a sound, which still considers both the vertical and the horizontal course.

- Arne Nordheim