• Michael Nyman
  • The Claim for Orchestra (2003)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)
  • 2(pic)+pic.2+ca.3(bcl).2/4.3(flg).2+btbn.1/str
  • 16 min

Programme Note

1. The Fiery House
2. Shootout
3. The Burning

This is the second of Michael Nyman's soundtracks composed for Michael Winterbottom (after Wonderland in 1999). The Claim was made in 2000 and is a re-location of Thomas Hardy's The Mayor of Casterbridge to the California Gold Rush of 1847. An Irish immigrant sells his wife and baby daughter for a gold claim…



  • Michael Nyman at 80
    • Michael Nyman at 80
    • Join us in celebrating the catalogue of Michael Nyman, who turned 80 in March 2024
  • a dance he little thinks of
    • a dance he little thinks of
    • Discover music by celebrated minimalist composer Michael Nyman. His driving often sensitive and always memorable music is a gift to choreographers.