• Michael Nyman
  • The Piano: Concert Suite (2003)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)
  • 2(afl)3(ca)22/2211/pf/str
  • 20 min

Programme Note

1. To the edge of the earth
2. The heart asks pleasure first
3. Here to there
4. Lost and found
5. The embrace
6. Dreams of a journey

Composed in 1992 for Jane Campion. In the 1850s a young Scottish woman travels with her daughter to New Zealand as a mail order bride. The score is partly based on Scottish popular songs, and this concert version was made in early 2003.


To The Edge Of The Earth
The Heart Asks Pleasure First
The Promise
The Fling
The Scent Of Love
Deep Into The Forest
The Mood That Passes Through You
The Embrace
The Sacrifice
The Heart Asks Pleasure First / The Promise - Edit


Preview the score


  • Michael Nyman at 80
    • Michael Nyman at 80
    • Join us in celebrating the catalogue of Michael Nyman, who turned 80 in March 2024
  • a dance he little thinks of
    • a dance he little thinks of
    • Discover music by celebrated minimalist composer Michael Nyman. His driving often sensitive and always memorable music is a gift to choreographers.

More Info