• Naresh Sohal
  • Chiaroscuro I (1971)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Philip Jones Brass Ensemble with funds provided by the Arts Council

  • hn.2tpt.tbn.tba
  • 10 min

Programme Note

Naresh Sohal: Chiaroscuro II

The piece begins with three top instruments playing ostenato chords of 15 quarter-tone intervals (ie. falling between the perfect fifth and minor sixth). This interval in melodic and harmonic forms, together with the opening statement on the cello forms the basis of the whole piece.

The ostenato rhythm also recurs and, in the fast section, is developed into a repetitive four-bar pattern for the top three instruments.

Structurally, the piece consists of three sections - the first being moderately slow, the second moderately fast, and the third very slow. The last section is preceded by a short cadenza on the cello and the first violin.

The piece aims to display a multitude of shades within the colour spectrum of the string quartet medium, hence its title which suggest light and shade.