Thea Musgrave: Review: “Turbulent Landscapes”

As with many works of this composer, the sound world is
as accessible as the craftsmanship is adept.

TURBULENT LANDSCAPES is a sequence of six independent
movements, each a response to one or more paintings by
Turner....Each picture invoked a soloist...[the work
possesses] the rich palette of orchestral color
deployed by Musgrave and, surely, the sense of drama
generated in these arresting aural landscapes.

— Barry Millington, EVENING STANDARD (London)

Thea Musgrave
Duration: 30'
BBC Symphony Orchestra/Vänskä
20 July 2005; BBC Proms, London, England

Related News