Pelle Prize at KLANG Festival 2022

Pelle Prize at KLANG Festival 2022
© Alexander Banck-Petersen

On June 10, KLANG - Copenhagen Avantgarde Music Festival awarded their composition prize, the Pelle Prize, for the sixth time, to Xavier Bonfill. The prize was presented by Edition Wilhelm Hansen.

We would like to congratulate Xavier Bonfill on a well deserved win!

The Pelle Prize is awarded to a composer whose talent dares to cross the norms of the time. This year’s winner is a young composer with a clear aesthetic and artistic direction. Bonfill masters the future of musical expression, actively using electronics, videos, interactive websites and apps in his work.

The prize is named after Danish composer Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen. After his death in 2016, the festival, Edition Wilhelm Hansen and Pelle’s widow Karin Birgitte Lund got together and founded the composition prize to honour the composer’s legacy and his constant support of young composers.

The prize has previously gone to Jeppe Ernst, James Black, Mette Nielsen, Jens Peter Møller and Marcela Lucatelli.

This year’s KLANG festival presents the Danish premiere of Hugi Gudmundsson’s The Gospel of Mary, the Danish premiere of Eivind Buene’s Miniatures, an homage to Per Nørgård for his 90th birthday and so much more!


Read about Gudmundsen-Holmgreen’s Choir music and dive into his catalogue with these playlists.


Orchestral music

Chamber music

Choral music

Related News