Wallin double concerto premieres in Norway

Wallin double concerto premieres in Norway
Rolf Wallin
© Rikard Osterlund

A new version of the Mozart-inspired concerto Das war schön! by Rolf Wallin for solo percussion, cello and orchestra is premiered by Trondheim Symphony Orchestra on January 28 at 1930h CET.

The re-working of Wallin's 2006 percussion concerto was created at the suggestion of its soloists, the percussionist Hans-Kristian Kjos Sørensen and cellist Tanja Tetzlaff, and has been co-commissioned by Gävle Symphony Orchestra and Trondheim Symphony Orchestra. The premiere, which will take place in front of a live audience at the Norwegian city’s Olavshallen, will also be streamed live and available to view on demand following the performance.

Watch at Thursday, 28 Jan 2021, 19:30 CET

Das war schön! was originally commissioned by the  Wiener Mozartjahr and Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra to mark the 250th anniversary of Mozart’s birth. The work’s five movements reference various aspects of the composer’s life and music, among them Freemasonry, The Magic Flute, the influence of Leopold Mozart and his beloved pet starling. The title (“That was nice!”) comes from a note Mozart left in the catalogue of his works that refers to the bird’s singing.

Related News