BBC Music announces the launch of Ten Pieces

BBC Music announces the launch of Ten Pieces

Following the success of the first three sets of Ten Pieces, BBC Music has announced the launch of Ten Pieces Trailblazers for the 19/20 academic year. Two of the ten pieces are from the Wise Music catalogue: Symphony No. 1 in E Minor (1932) by African-American composer Florence Price, one of the first African-American women to be nationally recognised as a composer, and Symphony (1910) by Indian composer and sitarist Ravi Shankar, renowned for his pioneering work in bringing Indian music to the West.

This award-winning, nationwide classical music education programme opens the world of classical music to children aged 7-14, encouraging young people to develop their own creative responses to ten pieces of classical music. The aim is to inspire them to develop their own creative responses to the works, through composition, dance and digital art. From baroque to contemporary, the repertoire covers a wide range of styles and eras. It now returns for its sixth year to build on its huge success to date: so far it has engaged over 10,000 schools and reached over five million people across the UK.

The theme of the new set of ten pieces - 'Trailblazers' - looks to showcase composers and works that throughout history have redefined classical and orchestral music. These are:
  • Hans Zimmer - Earth BBC Ten Pieces commission
  • George Gershwin - Rhapsody in Blue (excerpt)
  • Ravi Shankar - Symphony, Finale (excerpt)
  • Delia Derbyshire - Doctor Who Theme (original theme composed by Ron Grainer)
  • Antonio Vivaldi - Winter from The Four Seasons
  • Gra┼╝yna Bacewicz - Overture
  • Steve Reich - Music for 18 Musicians (excerpt)
  • Heitor Villa-Lobos - Bachianas brasilieras No. 2, Little Train Of The Caipira (finale)
  • Florence Price - Symphony No. 1 in E Minor (3rd movement)
  • Johannes Brahms - Hungarian Dance No. 5

For more information about the project, please visit the BBC Website.


Florence Price: Symphony No. 1

Ravi Shankar: Symphony

Related News