World Premiere of Games for Souls by Britta Byström

World Premiere of Games for Souls by Britta Byström
© Lars Skaaning

Britta Byström’s Games for Souls, a concerto for violin and string orchestra, will be premiered on November 11 2016 in Växjö Sweden. The chamber orchestra Musica Vitae and violinist Malin Broman will give the performance. Two days later they will repeat the concert in Kristianstad following which they will record the work for Daphne Records. Games for Souls is dedicated to the soloist Malin Broman. The violin concerto exists in two versions and the shorter version was premiered at the new Malmö Chamber Music in September 2016 and has also been performed in Zürich, Switzerland.

Byström's music pays special attention to sound and it has a certain sensitivity for the music's resonance that could be described as impressionistic. In her own words: “I try to create poetic music that can invite the listener to an experience of beauty.” Byström was named winner of the prestigious Elaine Lebenbom Memorial Award for Female Composers in 2015, and her work Many, Yet One (2016) for orchestra will receive its first performance by the Detroit Symphony Orchestra in 2017. The same year Byström’s Double Concerto for violin and Double Bass will receive its first performance with Malin Broman, Rick Stotijn and the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra. Also worth noting is the new-music festival Soundstreams in Toronto, which will premiere her first chamber opera Gállábartnit which is built on Sami tales and mythology.

Listen to Britta Byström's music on Spotify

Related News