The Lutoslawski Centenary Approaches (2013)

The Lutoslawski Centenary Approaches (2013)

  Photo by Morten Krogvold Witold Lutoslawski was indisputably one of the major composers of the twentieth century. Born in Warsaw in 1913, he showed exceptional musical talent from an early age and by the time of his death in 1994 he had created an impressive body of works. Although some are lost, Chester Music publishes almost 90 of Lutoslawski’s compositions.

Regarded as Poland’s greatest composer since Chopin, classical musicians around the world are gearing up to celebrate the composer’s centenary in 2013. The Concerto for Cello and Orchestra, Concerto for Piano and Orchestra and Concerto for Orchestra remain the most popular works amongst conductors and soloists alike, however as well as key interpreters and dedicatees of the music such as Krystian Zimerman, the LA Philharmonic Orchestra and Esa-Pekka Salonen, the centenary also showcases performances by a younger generation of performers such as cellist Johannes Moser.

Key performances in the coming 12/13 season include the Philharmonia Orchestra conducted by Esa-Pekka Salonen presenting a series of concerts in a special series Woven Words, Lutoslawski Centenary, in London. The opening concert includes the Piano Concerto with the soloist for whom the work was written, Krystian Zimerman. Other performances in the UK include that by the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra of the Cello Concerto (the work the orchestra premiered in 1970) and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra in the context of its Muzyka Polska series.

The Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra with Simon Rattle is featuring Lutoslawski as one of three featured composers next season. In Rattle’s continuing commitment to keeping alive the memory of key musical figures, the concerts include Symphony No.3, the Piano Concerto and the Cello Concerto.

Esa-Pekka Salonen continues to lead the celebrations with the LA Philharmonic Orchestra. In a series Lutoslawski Centenary, he joins in presenting concerts which include Les espaces du sommeil and Symphony No. 4 (a work the LA Philharmonic commissioned).

For an up-to-date overview of performances, please see here.  More dates will be uploaded as they are announced.

Please click here for a Lutoslawski playlist.

Please click here for more News

Related News