All eyes on… Thea Musgrave at the Sage Gateshead

All eyes on… Thea Musgrave at the Sage Gateshead
Celebrating the eightieth birthday of Thea Musgrave, Northern Sinfonia presents two concerts devoted to the composer’s music at the Sage Gateshead on December 8 and 9.

Conducted by Nicholas Kraemer and featuring soloists including oboist Nicholas Daniel and soprano Elizabeth Cragg, the performances will present an unrivalled survey of Musgrave’s instrumental output. Highlights include the acclaimed oboe concerto Helios as well as excerpts from The Seasons and the Mozart-inspired Journey into Light. Nicholas Daniel will present the world premiere of Take Two Oboes as part of a concert of chamber music which also includes two pieces that typify the composer’s theatrical approach to composition - Orfeo II and Lamenting with Ariadne.

Thea Musgrave will be present at the events and will talk about her music prior to each performance.

More information and tickets

Monday 8 December, 7:30pm
Hall One, The Sage Gateshead

Spring and Summer from The Seasons
Music for Horn and Piano
Journey into Light (Elizabeth Cragg, soprano)
Ring Out Wild Bells
Primavera for Soprano and Flute
Helios (Nicholas Daniel, oboe)

Tuesday 9 December, 8:00pm
Hall Two, The Sage Gateshead

Take Two Oboes (World Premiere) (Nicholas Daniel, oboe)
Orfeo II: An Improvisation on a Theme (Juliette Bausor, flute)
Echoes of Time Past
Lamenting with Ariadne
In The Still of the Night

Complete calendar of Musgrave events in Winter 2008

Read Conrad Wilson's feature on Thea Musgrave in The Herald (Glasgow)

Related News