• Bryan Kelly
  • Guitar Concerto (1978)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)
  • 2(pic)222/2200/str
  • guitar
  • 20 min

Programme Note

Bryan Kelly: Guitar Concerto
Allegro, Largo, Allegro

Having written several pieces for solo guitar, the composer was attracted to the idea of writing a concerto. Carlos Bonell's enthusiasm encouraged him to begin the work and the score was completed a year ago.

The concerto has three movements and is scored for a classical type orchestra without percussion or timpani. The first movement in sonata form contrasts a perky but resolute theme with a more romantic and expansive melody.

The second movement, an elegiac nocturne, gives the soloist opportunity to reveal the melancholy character of the guitar.

The final movement is a brisk rhythmic rondo in which constantly changing time signatures add to the energetic dance-like mood.