• Michael Hurd
  • Concerto da Camera

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)
  • 10212000str
  • oboe
  • 12 min

Programme Note

This short concerto for oboe and small orchestra was commissioned for Geoffrey Bridge and the Havant Chamber Orchestra and first performed by them on 16 June, 1979. There are three movements and the principal material for each of them involves the same three notes - C, B natural, and E - which are heard in different tonal contexts. The last movement, a lively Rondo, alludes to the style of Francis Poulenc, and the whole work may be thought of as a tribute to his particular genius.

© Michael Hurd