• 2222/4330/timp.perc/hp.cel/str
  • violin
  • 27 min

Programme Note

Arnold Cooke: Violin Concerto

The composer's intention in this work is to exploit the lyrical, expressive and rhythmical capabilities of the violin, rather than to aim at virtuoso display. The work is in three movements: the first an Allegro moderato, then an Adagio, with a long melody for the solo violin, and finally a dance-like Rondo, marked 'molto vivace'. In the middle of this last movement the violin introduces a simple folk-like melody, accompanied only by the harp, and this tune returns after a cadenza, to bring the music to a cheerful end.

This work is published by Novello and Co. Ltd.