• Justin Connolly
  • Ceilidh (1976)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Commissioned by the Yehudi Menuhin School

  • 4vln
  • 10 min

Programme Note

This work was commissioned for the Yehudi Menuhin School's visit to the United States as part of the Bicentennial Celebrations, with funds provided by the Arts Council of Great Britain. The Gaelic word 'ceilidh' (pronounced 'kali') means 'a visit' and is used to describe the traditional practice of music-making, with its emphasis on contrasted items involving singing, dancing and instrumental performance of considerable virtuosity in which the violin takes an important part.