• Joseph Horovitz
  • Euphonium Concerto (1972)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Commissioned by the National Brass Band Championships

Version for Euphonium and orchestra available on hire

  • brass band [=wind orchestra] [=chamber orchestra]
  • euphonium and piano
  • Euphonium
  • 16 min
    • 13th March 2021, Langley Park Centre, Beckenham, United Kingdom
    • 20th March 2021, Culture and Congress House, Aarau, Switzerland
    View all

Programme Note

This concerto is probably the first for the instrument, and was written in 1972 as the result of a commission by the National Brass Band Festival with funds from the Arts Council of Great Britain.

As a concerto, it is based on the classical form whilst acknowledging later modifications to it. The first Moderato movement reflects the composer's melodic instinct, although within this framework the soloist embellishes the material freely. A lento movement which follows, contains the only Cadenza elements in the work, recalling folk tunes. The finale is strongly driven at first by a rhythmic motive stated by trombones and timpani, but the soloist provides a contrast with a sprightly Rondo theme. A whole-tone version of the theme concludes the work in a flourish of virtuoso display.


Euphonium Concerto: I. Moderato
Euphonium Concerto: II. Lento
Euphonium Concerto: III. Con moto


More Info