• Michael Nyman
  • Where the Bee Dances (1991)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by the Bournemouth Sinfonietta

  • 2(II:pic).1+ca.1+bcl.2/2.1.0+btbn.0/pf/str(desks
  • soprano saxophone
  • 21 min

Programme Note

This saxophone concerto, written in one continuous movement with a wide variety of tempi, celebrates the talents of John Harle, who has been a central player in the Michael Nyman Band for over ten years. The title has a double reference: on the one hand to the circular orientation dances which a foraging bee performs to communicate the location of food source, and on the other hand to my setting of ‘Where the bee sucks’, composed for Peter Greenaway’s film Prospero’s Books and quoted sporadically during the concerto. However, most of the material is derived from a 4-chord sequence that John once overheard me playing and which he expressed a particular liking for.

Michael Nyman


Where the Bee Dances


Preview the score



More Info