• Michael Nyman
  • Concert Suite from Prospero's Books (1994)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by the Scottish Chamber Orchestra

  • 2(pic)22(bcl)2/2210/pf/str
  • 25 min

Programme Note

1. Prospero's magic
2. Prospero's curse
3. Come unto these yellow sands
4. Cornfield
5. Miranda
The fifth feature film that Peter Greenaway and Michael Nyman produced in 1991, Prospero's Books is a reworking of The Tempest. The score was written for the Michael Nyman Band and made into a suite for chamber orchestra in 1994. The first performance was given by the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, conducted by Ivor Bolton in January 1995.


More Info