Thames Concert Society

  • hpd/str(
  • 10 min

Programme Note

John Joubert: Threnos

Threnos was commissioned by the Thames Concert Society and first performed in 1974 by Colin Tilney with the Philomusica of London conduced by Louis Halsey. It is in the form of an extended slow movement which unfolds three ideas and then repeats them in the same order in an elaborated and varied form. The third idea, a sustained melody stated first by the harpsichord, is taken from some incidental music I once wrote for the Agamemnon of Aeschylus. The words from the play it was originally intended to accompany appear at the head of the score:

"Oh, for the gift of death To bring the long sleep that knows no waking…"

© John Joubert